MCS Radio Show Recap – Saturday, July 1st, 2017

In the spirit of July 4th, here’s something to think about…

“Those who deny freedom to others deserve it not for themselves.” -Abraham Lincoln

Well, I hope that you all had a spectacular July 4th holiday.  Although there was no grilling or cooking involved, I enjoyed it to the best of my ability.  We were all missing my mother and the day just seemed a bit off.  Nevertheless, the outing with my starting line up and lead motivator was nice.   Here’s a pic…

July4th

So you missed Saturday’s show?  Well here’s what you missed…

Cafe Talk:  If you could give up one thing today and walk away from it completely free, what would it be?

First Hour – “This Day in History” and Top News

“On this day in history” was so interesting, I spent extra time on it.  Here they are…in the year 1200, sunglasses were invented in China; the first postage stamp was issued in 1847; the first zoo opened in Philadelphia in 1874; in 1908, the first “SOS” (…—…) distress signal became the worldwide standard for help; Chicago’s Comiskey Park opened in 1910; the voting age was lowered from age 21 to 18 by ratifying the 26th Amendment to the U. S. Constitution; in 1979 the Sony Walkman went on sale; and in 1997, the Nevada Athletic Commission suspended Mike Tyson for biting Evander Holyfield’s ear.

During top news, I chimed in on what the citizens of the State of Illinois may continue to lose if lawmakers don’t reach a budget deal this weekend.  If a deal is reached, they’ll avoid a 3rd year without a spending plan.  I also recapped the breaking news that WJOL program director, Scott Slocum reported just before the start of my radio show.  Sadly, the breaking news was about the fatal car accident at I-55 @ I-80 West ramp.  Lastly, I commented on the increase of road rage incidents particularly during this holiday season.

We all chimed in during Cafe Talk and What’s Trending on Social Media.  Take a listen at marilynscafesociety.com.

Second Hour – Entertainment News

Entertainment talk was juicy!  We recapped the BET Awards Show.  Of course talking up Bruno Mars and his band’s performance.  We talked about other highlights including Chance the Rapper’s and New Edition’s special honors.  The latest episode of the Bachelorette was on the menu along with America’s Got Talent contestant, Johnny Manuel, who covered Whitney Houston’s “I’ve Got Nothing” song.  Click here to view the video.  Wonder Woman the movie was chatted about; Jay:Z’s 4:44 album release; and the names (Sir and Rumi) of his newly born twin babies with his wife, Beyonce, were on topic.

I shared “Fun Ways to Dress for the 4th of July” without looking tacky during Passion for Fashion.  Take a look at one of the looks I sported the day before July 4th;  and the cute, infamous “flag dress that I wore on “the 4th”.

Left to right:  Marilyn in muted red, white and blue sundress; and “the” flag dress.

Before wrapping the show, we reminded everyone about the various fireworks shows happening in their respective communities or region and announced a couple of festivals that they can attend.  Lastly, Soul presented another thought-provoking “SoulBalm Says”.  Talk a listen.

Remember everyone that I will be (at the time of publishing this, I already have) taking over the morning show this Monday, July 3rd, 2017.  Join me at 6:05 a.m.  Also, find me on Twitter.com/marilynscafesoc and Facebook.  Be safe.

Peace,

Marilyn

 

Leave a Reply

