MCS Radio Show Recap – Saturday, September 2nd, 2017

It’s taken me a week to decide if I wanted to acknowledge what happened, let alone write about it.  So here it it…

Last week, I was told that someone’s mother and/or grandmother called me a “nigger” under her breath as she turned away from me after we had a brief (and cordial on my part) business encounter that did not end to her liking.  I didn’t hear her but judging from the shocked, horrified looks on the faces of those around, they heard her.  In fact, several of them, told me what they heard her say.  They encouraged me to call her out and were willing to go to bat for me if needed.  I believe she said it because from the start of our encounter her disposition and attitude was negative.  Again, she was at least 70 years old.

I shared this to make you aware of the vileness that still exists in people’s heart regarding people that are different from them.   As a man or woman thinketh, so is he/she.  It’s just a matter of time before their thoughts are verbalized.  No.  This was not the first circumstance in which I’ve been called names other than my birth name. Quite frankly, you wouldn’t believe some of my stories of verbal disrespect simply because I’m a woman; a woman of color; my general beliefs, perspectives are different;  or just because I am who I am.  Yes.  Some stories relate to work and business situations…customer service, sales, talk radio to be exact.  The other stories are general and in a few cases very personal.  Over the years, I’ve learned that you’ve got to be thick skinned in business as well as in life.  Just keep it moving and keep shining! Is it acceptable?  Absolutely not!  This belittling, derogatory, abusive behavior must be reported and where possible, corrected.

So, in the spirit of keeping it moving, here’s the recap of Saturday’s show…

Café Talk:  Was Joel Osteen right or wrong for the delay in opening his church to the Houston flood victims?

1st Hour– This Day In History and Top News

Brianna and I were hard at work in studio preparing the “This Day In History” segment.  Rashad was also present offering commentary during top news and Cafe Talk.

*1935 – A hurricane (dubbed the Labor Day Hurricane) hit the Florida Keys killing an estimated 350-400 people.

*1969 – The very first ATM opened for business.

*2013- 64 year old Diana Nyad made history by completing a 53 hour swim.

For audio, go to www.marilynscafesociety.com.

Top News:  Hurricane Harvey, Hurricane Irma, and Rising Gas Prices

Hurricane Harvey has devastated the people in Houston, Texas and surrounding areas including storm remnants reaching Louisiana, Tennessee, and Kentucky.  Now, Hurricane Irma is approaching the Caribbean Islands and Florida.  Let’s keep her and all others in harms way in our prayers and make $10.00 donation text to Harvey at 90999 or to give more, go to American Red Cross.  As a result of Harvey’s destruction of two major fuel pipelines, the AAA is reporting an uptick in gasoline prices.

Cafe Talk was related to Top News.   For audio on the first hour click this link www.marilynscafesociety.com.

2nd Hour – Entertainment News and Passion for Fashion

Entertainment Talk included commentary on the Mayweather v. McGregor fight; the MTV Video Music Awards; Khloe Kardashians new love interest; Serena Williams gives birth and more.   Click here for audio.

I shared the “Squiggly Eyebrow” trend during the Passion for Fashion segment. Check them out below.

Photo credit:  Sheen Magazine and  Stylish Curves

Click here for audio.

Tune in next Saturday for another edition of Marilyn’s Cafe Society radio show; and remember the new OR returned showtime at 12:05pm (Noon) CDT!  Tell a friend!

Peace and Love,

Marilyn

Leave a Reply

